U.S. Open: Tournament History

The 2023 instalment of the U.S. Open begins on Saturday October 7 at the Arlen Specter US Squash Center in Philadelphia as the world’s leading players get set to do battle in the third Platinum event of the season. 

The U.S. Open is one of the most pioneering events on the PSA World Tour calendar, becoming the first PSA Platinum (a tier previously known as PSA World Series) tournament to offer equal prize money across both the Men’s and Women’s draws in 2013.

The tournament started back in 1954 on New Year’s Day in a hardball format, before changing to the more familiar softball format that modern fans will be accustomed to in 1985. 

The legendary Pakistani player Jahangir Khan was the first winner in the modern format, beating former World Champion Ross Norman, whilst Egyptian ‘Maestro’ Amr Shabana (two), Australia’s David Palmer, England’s Peter Nicol and Canada’s Jonathon Power have all also got their hands on the famous title.

The U.S. Open has been held in various locations such as Chicago and Boston, before the tournament moved to Philadelphia in 2011 – where it has stayed ever since. The spectacular Arlen Specter US Squash Center has been home to the U.S. Open since 2021.

The tournament has a reputation as one of the marquee events on the North American squash calendar and last year saw Diego Elias and Nouran Gohar claim the men’s and women’s titles respectively.

Elias was crowned U.S. Open champion for the first time after Egyptian Ali Farag was forced to retire after just two minutes of their bout due to injury, whilst Nouran Gohar overcame fellow Egyptian Nour El Sherbini by an 11-7, 9-11, 11-7, 11-6 scoreline in 51 minutes. 

Previous Winners – Men

2022 Diego Elias (PER)

2021 Mostafa Asal (EGY)

2020 No event

2019 Ali Farag (EGY)

2018 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)

2017 Ali Farag (EGY)

2016 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)

2015 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)

2014 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)

2013 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)

2012 Ramy Ashour (EGY)

2011 Amr Shabana (EGY)

2010 Wael El Hindi (EGY)

2009 Amr Shabana (EGY)

2008 No event

2007 Nick Matthew (ENG)

2006 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)

2005 Lee Beachill (ENG)

2004 Lee Beachill (ENG)

2003 Peter Nicol (ENG)

2002 David Palmer (AUS)

2001 Peter Nicol (ENG)

2000 Jonathon Power (CAN)

1999 Simon Parke (ENG)

1998 Peter Nicol (SCO)

1997 Jonathon Power (CAN)

1996 Rodney Eyles (AUS)

1995 Jansher Khan (PAK)

1994 Peter Nicol (SCO)

1993 Rodney Eyles (AUS)

1992 No event

1991 Rodney Martin (AUS)

1990 Jansher Khan (PAK)

1989 Rodney Martin (AUS)

1988 Jahangir Khan (PAK)

1987 Jansher Khan (PAK)

1986 Stuart Davenport (NZL)

1985 Jahangir Khan (PAK)

Previous Winners – Women

2022 Nouran Gohar (EGY)

2021 Nouran Gohar (EGY)

2020 No event

2019 Nouran Gohar (EGY)

2018 Raneem El Welily (EGY)

2017 Nour El Tayeb (EGY)

2016 Camille Serme (FRA)

2015 Laura Massaro (ENG)

2014 Nicol David (MAS)

2013 Nicol David (MAS)

2012 Nicol David (MAS)

2011 Laura Massaro (ENG)

2010 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)

2009 Jenny Duncalf (ENG)

2008 No event

2007 No event

2006 No event

2005 Natalie Grinham (AUS)

2004 Natalie Grainger (USA)

2003 Cassie Jackman (ENG)

2002 Carol Owens (NZL)

2001 No event

2000 No event

1999 Cassie Jackman (ENG)

1998 Michelle Martin (AUS)

1997 Cassie Jackman (ENG)

1996 No event

1995 No event

1994 Suzanne Horner (ENG)

1993 Cassie Jackman (ENG)

The U.S. Open presents a third chance of the season for players to secure their spot in the PSA World Tour Finals by taking the title in Philadelphia. Thus far, Egyptian trio Farag, El Sherbini and Hania El Hammamy are the only players to have qualified automatically for the event by winning a Platinum tournament this season. 

By Dr Muhammad Hussain