Secretary-General of ASEAN witnesses ASEAN Prize awarding ceremony at 43rd ASEAN Summit and Related Summits

At the 43rd ASEAN Summit, Secretary-General of ASEAN Dr Kao Kim Hourn witnessed the official presentation of the ASEAN Prize to Haji Muhammad Iqbal Fakhri bin Haji Damit and Nguyen Thi Tuyet Minh, the Winner of 2022 and 2023 ASEAN Prize, respectively.

President Joko Widodo of Indonesia bestowed the ASEAN Prize trophy to the recipients in the presence of ASEAN Leaders and the diplomatic community. According to Dr Kao, the impactful services rendered by both recipients have significantly promoted greater awareness of the ASEAN identity.

The ASEAN Prize is an annual regional premier award meant to honour the outstanding efforts rendered by ASEAN’s individuals and organisations to foster ASEAN community building.

By Nadeem Faisal Baiga