FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Top facts ahead of Spain vs England in the final

Spain take on England in the final of the 2023 Women’s World Cup football tournament on Sunday (20 August), here are the facts behind the final. 

We’re edging closer to crowning the champions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

For the first time since 2011, a new nation will lift football’s most coveted prize: Spain or England.

La Roja booked their spot in the last two with a dramatic victory over Sweden, while The Lionesses fought off co-hosts Australia in a breathless encounter in Sydney.

Now the pair will meet on the biggest stage of all this Sunday (20 August).

Here are the key things to know about the final…

  • FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: The full schedule and how to watch live action
  • FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 top goal-scorers: Race for the Golden Boot
  • FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: All fixtures, results, goalscorers, and group standings – complete list

When and where is the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 final?

The final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup is on Sunday 20 August 2023, between Spain and England at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Kick-off times:

  • 20:00 (Sydney)
  • 11:00 (London)
  • 12:00 (Madrid)

How can I watch the final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup?

Fans in England can watch the game for free on both BBC and ITV, with each channel also streaming it on their respective streaming websites – BBC iPlayer and ITVX.

In Spain, meanwhile, TVE1 will be airing the final live and free-to-air. will also provide the game live.

A full list of broadcasters can be found here, so you find out where to watch show this showpiece where you are in the world.Tori Penso will referee the final.

Who will officiate the final?

Referee: Tori Penso

Assistant Referees: Brooke Mayo and Katie Nesbitt

Fourth official: Yoshimi Yamashita

Top facts about the FIFA Women’s World Cup final

  • Neither England nor Spain have ever made a FIFA World Cup final before
  • England Head Coach Sarina Wiegman is the first coach to lead two different countries to the FIFA Women’s World Cup final. Her Netherlands team were beaten for the trophy by USA in 2019.
  • Germany are the only nation to have won the Men’s World Cup and Women’s World Cup before, which either Spain or England will equal on Sunday
  • England would hold both the Women’s Euros and Women’s World Cup titles with a win on Sunday

Lauren James has now served her two-match ban. 

**Team news – England v Spain **

The big story from the England camp is the return of Lauren James, who had been subject to a two-match suspension following her red card against Nigeria.

In her absence, Ella Toone stepped into the 10 role and delivered on the big stage with a goal against Australia in the semi-final.

It is a welcomed selection headache for Wiegman, who must now decide which of Toone or James she calls upon to start the final.

For Jorge Vilda, he has a similar talent pool at his disposal. From Alexia Putellas to game-changer Salma Paralluelo, it will be intriguing to see which team he goes with.

Paralluelo arguably warrants a start given her clutch goals in the quarter-final and semi-final, but her effectiveness from the bench may just lead Vilda to have her as a substitute to introduce when needed.

By Dr Muhammad Hussain